Relational Database Service (RDS)

  • Relational Database Service (RDS) is the AWS Solution for relational databases.
  • RDS instances are managed by AWS, You cannot SSH into the VM running the database.
  • There are 6 relational database options currently available on AWS, Aurora, MySQL, MariaDB, Postgres, Oracle, Microsoft SQL Server.
  • Multi-AZ is an option you can turn on which makes an exact copy of your database in another AZ that is only standby.
  • For Multi-AZ AWS automatically synchronizes changes in the database over to the standby copy.
  • Multi-AZ has automatic failover protection if one AZ goes down failover will occur and the standby slave will be promoted to master.
  • Read-Replicas allow you to run multiples copies of your database, these copies only allows reads(no writes) and is intended to alleviate the workload of your primary database to improve performance.
  • Read-Replicas use Asynchronous replication.
  • You must have automatic backups enabled to us Read Replicas.
  • You can have upto 5 read replicas.
  • You can combine Read Replicas with Multi-AZ.
  • You can have Read Replicas in another Region(Cross-Region Read Replicas).
  • Replicas can be promoted to their own database, but this breaks replication.
  • You can have Replicas of Read Replicas.
  • RDS has 2 backup solutions: Automated Backups and Database Snapshots.
  • Automated Backups, you choose a retention period between 1 and 35 days, There is no additional cost for backup storage, you define your backup window.
  • Manual Snapshots, you manually create backups, if you delete your primary the manual snapshots will still exist and can be restored.
  • When you restore an instance it will create a new database. You just need to delete your old database and point traffic to new restored database.
  • You can turn on encryption at-rest for RDS via KMS.

More Details

Amazon EC2: Click Here

Amazon Elastic Container Registry (ECR): Click Here

Amazon Simple Storage Service (S3): Click Here

Amazon Relational Database Service (RDS): Click Here

AWS Identity and Access Management (IAM): Click Here